Tuesday, December 27, 2011

Quick Update

So here's what I have as of right now to review in the coming week (or so):

From Image Comics:
The Walking Dead vol. 1-5

From DC Comics:
Justice League, Green Lantern, Justice League International, Action Comics, Batman, Aquaman, Teen Titans, Green Lantern: New Guardians, Legion of Super-Heroes (which is permanently replacing Batgirl. More on that later), and Red Lanterns #4, plus JSA: Thy Kingdom Come vol. 1 (maybe)

From Marvel Comics:
Uncanny X-Men #2

Here's the list of stuff I should start getting into a routine with starting with the #7 issues from DC in March:

Action Comics
Batman (via subscription)
The Flash
Green Lantern (via subscription)
Green Lantern: New Guardians
Justice League (via subscription)
Justice League International (via subscription)
Legion of Super-Heroes
Red Lanterns (via subscription)
Uncanny X-Men
Uncanny X-Force (maybe?)
Wolverine and the X-Men

Damn thats a lotta money. I think I'll be on a story-by-story basis with the X-series. Same with Legion and Flash. At least I'm not paying for 5 of those anymore. I'm looking forward to the Rogues story in the Flash. Hoping to pick up X-Force after the (greatly reviewed) Dark Angel Saga story that just wrapped up. Hoping the amazingness can continue. I'm liking my strong core subscriptions of JL, JLI, GL, Batman, and RLs. Action, New Guardians, and Legion are all series
I'm kind of being wary of. And the only reason I'm not subscribed to Aquaman, is because my mom didn't get the subscription for it for me. Though if #4 and 5 are good, I'll probably subscribe with some of my money.

As for Batgirl:
I've kind of lost interest in Barbara's story. I'll keep up via Gail Simone on twitter, DC's blog, and reviews from other people. I'm interested in seeing how she copes with walking again and such. I like Gail Simone, I like Ardian Syaf, its just not doing it for me. Maybe its the villain. Hopefully I can start picking it up sooner than later again.

Friday, December 23, 2011

Saturday, December 3, 2011

December Comics Plans

Looks like I'm gonna get a bunch of comic book subscriptions for Christmas. Plus I get tons of money. So I think I'm just gonna have a couple "quickies" reviews for this month. Probably like that last Wednesday of the year.

Monday, November 28, 2011

Legion of Super-Heroes #3

Creative Team:

Paul Levitz (writer)
Francis Portela (artist)

Summary of Events Until Now

In the first two issues of "Legion," we see Dragonwing, Chemical Kid, Phantom Girl, Chameleon Boy, and Ultra Boy infiltrating a planet-base known as "Panotpes." We met a (new?) character named Renegade, who is a Daxamite...much like Mon-El. Mon-El then shows up on the scene and starts fighting alongside Ultra Boy against Renegade. In the end, the Dominators (!!!) show up with a huge fleet!

Meanwhile, Brainiac 5 and a couple others are doing some stuff that I dont quite understand the point of. If I happen to understand it, I'll explain it later.

Issue Summary

The issue opens with Chameleon Boy, Phantom Girl, Chemical Kid, & Dragonwing scrambling to handle the Dominators, whose fleet is directly overhead.

We then cut to Brainiac 5's lab, where he is testing Glorith's ability to create shields. Glorith asks if he should be watching the monitor to keep an eye on whats happening on Panoptes.

Back on Panoptes, Cham saves DW & Chem, while PG sneaks into one of the ships and destroys it.

We now see Lightning Lass, Cosmic Boy, Shrinking Violet, & Invisible Kid flying in a ship to Daxam. They land and are greeted by some friendly Daxamites (didn't know those existed...). Cos asks one of them what they know about Renegade.

Back on Panoptes, Renegade is easily fending off Ultra Boy, and Mon-El, when an extra squad of Legionnaires show up. The squad consists of: Element Lad, Polar Boy, Sun Boy, Shadow Lass, and Cosmic Queen. Element Lad looks really weird... And Polar Boy seems like a character I will come to hate.

Shadow Lass turns everything dark, which allows Mon-El to punch Renegade hard in the face. Shadow Lass keeps the shadows covering Mon-El and Renegade, while the others fly off to attack the Dominators.

Back on Daxam, Cos learns that Renegade was a student "pursuing off-world studies," but disappeared. Which is quite odd, considering that Daxamites can't leave Daxam due to their fatal allergy to lead and heavy metals. But then it is said that he was being taught via virtual reality, but they can't find any trace of him on Daxam.

We see the Legionnaires enjoying themselves while destroying the Dominator ships. Dragonwing flirts with Sun Boy. And the Dominators begin to retreat. They are not afraid of the Legion following them back to their home planet. Cham managed to get on board the ship before they left.

Element Lad and Brainy are having a discussion on how to stop Renegade, and then we see Mon-El and Ultra Boy had taken down Renegade. Therefore ending the issue.


I know I didn't write reviews (or even buy up until this past weekend) for the first two issues of Legion, but I really like it. I plan on picking it up regularly. Art is great. Story is fun and action-packed. Can't wait to see when Cham inevitably will get caught and be a captive. Glad to see that most of the Legion came together to take down Renegade and the Dominators in this issue. It was great.


Glorith: "Don't you need to monitor whats happening on Panoptes with Renegade?"
Brainiac 5: "Mon-El's there. ANd he gets annoyed when I impinge on his leadership prerogatives...even when I'm right."

Introducing My New Reviewing Style!

So I've decided that I should pick a way of reviewing that fits my time, but also respects all of the series and comic books that end up buying. So I'm introducing a new reviewing style that will be seen in my next review (which will feature Legion of Super-Heroes #3) and be that way for as long as I feel like keeping it that way!

Granted, I'll probably come upon a time that the "Quickies" style is required and I will use it to have some quick reviews. But this will be my new and improved reviewing style.

Sunday, November 27, 2011

X-Men Regenesis: The #1's

I decided to grab the first issues of the two new X-Men ongoing series. "Uncanny" and "Wolverine and the" X-Men.

Uncanny X-Men-Kieron Gilen, Carlos Pacheco, Cam Smith, & Frank D'Armata


I am honestly liking this line-up more than Wolvie's team. Cyclops (even though he just stood around and did nothing in this issue), Storm, Colossus, Namor, Magneto, Emma Frost, Hope Summers? Its all great.
I really liked the story, I liked the art. This one jumped straight into action, which I really like. Plus I really liked the "things to come" thing from the end of it. Looks super interesting.


Well...Cyclops. And the fact that I don't know anything about who the fuck Danger is. But those are both personal things. So I'll let it slide. So I guess that, so far, I don't dislike anything about this series!

Wolverine and the X-Men-Jason Aaron, Chris Bachalo, & Tim Townsend


I'm digging the fact that we got to have some character introduction with Logan and Kitty. And plus the fact that just about every character that'll be in the series was shown.


I'm not sure how I'm feeling about the story and the art here. I mean the whole thing with the rocks is just confusing the shit out of me. Plus Bachalo has a style that I'm not exactly the biggest fan of. Though I might stick with it out of the hope that Kitty and Bobby will keep it alive!

So in the end, I'm really, really digging Cyclops' team, despite the fact that I hate Scott and don't understand anything about Danger. So I'll probably stick around through at least #2 and see what happens. Not sure about Wolvie's team, though.

Friday, November 25, 2011

Ultimate Universe--Is This It?

That variant cover to "The Ultimates" #4 shows, what I assume to be, all thats left of the heroes in the Ultimate Universe. And of those characters, I only know like ten. But then again...that is the majority of them on there.

During "Ultimatum," most of the Ultimate Universe was wiped away. While "Ultimatum"'s creative team was great (Jeph Loeb and David Finch!!!), I can't help but think that its sad that they were the ones to wipe out most of the X-Men and make a bunch of characters go MIA.

Back in September, Marvel "relaunched" their Ultimate line with the new Ultimate Spider-Man, the new Ultimate X-Men, and the good old Ultimates.

But just throwing it out there, I'd like to see Jimmy (Ultimate Wolverine's son) fight Ultimate Hulk sometime. I think itd be pretty cool to see. Considering the ONLY experience on the Ultimate Universe is the new X-Men series and having kinda sorta read a few pages of some of the old Ultimate Spider-Man stuff...I might not be the best source. I suggest asking JT or X-Man if you have any specific q's about this subject.

I just cant believe that those characters above are the only heroes left.

Wednesday, November 23, 2011

Fantastic Four #600 Preview!

Today marks the return of Johnny Storm and a landmark issue of Fantastic Four! Here are three different pages!

Tuesday, November 22, 2011

More 11/23/2011 Previews!

To follow-up my post from earlier, here are some more previews of tomorrow's comics. These are some of the ones I WON'T be buying.

Batman: The Dark Knight #3-Paul Jenkins & David Finch

The Flash #3-Francis Manapul & Brian Buccellato (probably fucked up that name really bad)

Superman #3-George Perez & Nicola Scott

Previews for 11/23/2011 DC Comics

So to go with my Aquaman #3 preview from a few days back, I got previews of Green Lantern: New Guardians and Teen Titans #3 to get you all excited for tomorrow's releases!

Green Lantern: New Guardians #3-Tony Bedard & Tyler Kirkham

Whats happening to Kyle? Will Salaak stop being so stuck up? Will the Guardians get their asses handed to them by Kyle and the New Guardians? (who knows, no, and HELL YEAH! are the answers to those questions, more than likely) Cannot wait! Keep tuned in over the next week or so to read the reviews of this, Aquaman, and Teen Titans #3!

Teen Titans #3-Scott Lobdell & Brett Booth

Sunday, November 20, 2011

Top 4 DC Comics Coming in December 2011

4. Batman
"Written by SCOTT SNYDER; Art by GREG CAPULLO and JONATHAN GLAPION; Cover by GREG CAPULLO; Variant cover by MIKE CHOI; 1:200 B&W Variant cover by GREG CAPULLO
Shocking discoveries lead Batman deeper into the mystery of the Court of Owls and its secret and bloody ties to both Gotham City and the Wayne family. But an even deadlier threat awaits Batman: a trap set hundreds of years ago, far beneath his city. The war for Gotham's soul begins here!"

Well...I hope we get some more action. This past issue kind of disappointed me with its lack of action. Last month, this would have been #2 on my list. Oh, well. Hopefully it doesn't drop any more.

3. Justice League International
On their first mission, the team has been separated and defeated – or so it seems! But when a new, galactic threat shows its face, will our heroes be able to defeat it or will the whole world suffer destruction on a cosmic scale?"

Loving this story. Can't wait to see the story continue. Also, I am so LOVING those David Finch covers. Haha

2. Green Lantern
"Written by GEOFF JOHNS; Art by DOUG MAHNKE and CHRISTIAN ALAMY; Cover by DOUG MAHNKE and KEITH CHAMPAGNE; Variant cover by FRANCIS MANAPUL; 1:200 B&W Variant cover by DOUG MAHNKE
They've pillaged and enslaved his homeworld. Now the fear-mongering Sinestro Corps must face newly reinstated Green Lantern Sinestro. Can the renegade GL liberate Korugar from the army he assembled?"

Sinestro was stuck in the middle of a battle with the entire Sinestro Corps at the end of #3. I cannot wait to see him somehow make it out alive and somehow save Hal's destroyed ass again. Cannot WAITTTTT.

1. Justice League
"Written by GEOFF JOHNS; Art and cover by JIM LEE and SCOTT WILLIAMS; 1:25 Variant cover by ANDY KUBERT; 1:200 B&W Variant cover by JIM LEE
The superstar team of Geoff Johns and Jim Lee continue the origin of the Justice League as The World's Greatest Heroes face the might of Apokolips – and find aid in an unlikely hero, as Cyborg is created!

Plus, Andy Kubert returns an amazing variant cover – his first new work after the smash-hit FLASHPOINT!"

Well obviously this is my #1. I cannot wait for this. And we finally get to see Darkseid in this issue. Plus, maybe--just maybe--the entire new JLA line-up all together? That'd be nice.

Damn this was just one of those kinda days where I feel like posting a buncha stuff! I got, what? 4 posts? 5 posts? In one day? I feel accomplished!